outfits

11 Apr

My mom recently found and scanned some photos of me as a kid wearing some cool outfits:

I wish I could find that turban

The uncropped version of this one shows that the Christmas tree next to me is wearing less tinsel than I am.

not shown: a strip of eggcrate mattress that I know was attached to the back of my head

This outfit would become even more ridiculous if I revealed the idea behind it, but I won’t. In my defense, it was Halloween.

why doesn't my hair look like this anymore?

This last one is my favorite, because my mother let me wear it out to Four Seas Ice Cream, the best ice cream place in the world. Something that always makes me happy is seeing a little kid in some crazy getup that their parents obviously let them pick out and wear in public just-this-once. I feel that what children choose to dress up in before they’ve learned to care about what’s cool or weather-appropriate is the purest, happiest form of fashion. Next time you see a four-year-old in a tutu and galoshes, ask yourself, “is this really any less practical than what I’ve seen on the runway this season?”

5 Responses to “outfits”

  1. Audrey April 11, 2010 at 7:15 pm #

    Hippie fairy Kate looks like someone I would have befriended at age 7! Actually every picture of me from 1st grade kinda looks like that. Until I got lice and had to have all my hair chopped off. Thanks, camping in the woods for two weeks, thanks a lot.

    But seriously I love those outfits and I think you should keep on posting ’em as they come!

  2. maggie April 11, 2010 at 8:13 pm #

    I have the turban. How could you have thought I would have let a gem like that get away? Mom

    • Kate April 12, 2010 at 9:01 am #

      I think you should start wearing it. Thanks for scanning these pictures!

  3. Sydney April 12, 2010 at 8:46 am #

    you were a redhead? are you sure you’re not mermaidian?

    • Kate April 12, 2010 at 9:02 am #

      My hair was bright red until about five years ago, when it started turning more of an Advil/auburn color. Blehhhh

Leave a Reply

