I can walk!

26 Apr

I went to the podiatrist today and it turns out I have a stress fracture, so he set me up with this stylish new boot:

I get to wear this for four weeks!

That’s me wearing my space boot in my newly organized closet/craft room (craft side not shown). The color’s a little off in this picture; my dress (by BB Dakota, given to me by my sister in law) is bright red, not orange. Along with the dress, which I clearly wear at least once a week, I’m wearing an Evan-Picone shirt from Goodwill, tights from CVS, my favorite hand-me-down cardigan, a silver t-strap from Payless, and a spaceman boot from Aircast.

Because I have been stuck at home all weekend, I have been watching lousy reality shows on MTV.com. I just finished watching True Life: I’m a Compulsive Shopper, and I was amazed at the ugly clothes the subjects were buying. I mean, you don’t need a hundred and sixty dollars to get a tiny stretch-jersey sundress. I bet I could find one at Marshalls for less than twenty bucks. It seems that these women are pretty sick, though, as they talk just like people addicted to drugs (something you can also watch True Life episodes about). As someone who has OCD, I understand the frustration of people around you wishing you could just snap out of it, and you wishing you could just snap out of it too, although these women seem like an extreme example– at least, I hope stealing your mom’s credit card so you can buy trashy Juicy Couture clothes is an extreme example. I’m probably not qualified to talk about this, since I’m not a doctor, just a lady who really likes clothes, but reality television brings out the judgmental worst in all of us. Also, I think we can all agree that “juicy” is a gross word to apply to anything that isn’t fruit.

Obviously I have some problems myself, since I have an entire spare bedroom devoted to my clothes and crafts, and had to enlist the help of several friends and my mom to get it as organized as it is now. My main issue is not with buying clothes. Although I do have an above-average amount of clothing, I don’t have a credit card (or steal my mother’s), I don’t go clothes shopping very often, and I try to spend my money at discount stores, thrift shops, and local businesses. I could be better with my money, but I could be way worse, too. My major thing is that I can’t get rid of anything. I save ticket stubs to lousy movies, fabric scraps, and holey socks.

In the interest of not having her daughter end up on Hoarders, last weekend my mom helped me take seven boxes of clothing and art supplies to Goodwill and throw away the aforementioned ticket stubs, fabric scraps, and socks. I now have a usable craft space for sewing and making jewelry, and a closet full of awesome clothing I will actually wear. I also discovered that I have two toy lobsters, two cummerbunds, and enough temporary tattoos and stickers to fill a drawer in my desk. My goal is to keep this room organized, and to remember that even if I enjoyed wearing something a long time ago, I don’t have to hold onto it if it’s not my thing anymore, and maybe someone at a thrift shop will be psyched to find my old sequined miniskirt.

9 Responses to “I can walk!”

  1. mike April 26, 2010 at 2:52 pm #

    phh… as if you need more shoes.

    As for ‘juicy’: when used in reference to someone’s posterior, for me it invokes an image less “over-ripe fruit” and more “why did I buy tacos out of a truck?”.

  2. mike April 26, 2010 at 2:53 pm #

    dang, I only noticed that unnecessary apostrophe after I hit submit.

    • Kate April 26, 2010 at 2:56 pm #

      I fixed it, because I can control what you say!

  3. Aunt Kelly April 26, 2010 at 4:08 pm #

    Yo – so glad you got your boo-boo taken care of.

    Put that drawer full of stickers to good use – decorate your boot! When I one I dressed it up with fun stars for the 4th of July! Knit christmas stockings change it up nicely too!

    Oh, I see your wheels turning and ugly casts will NEVER be the same.

  4. Audrey April 26, 2010 at 9:41 pm #

    I love the tattoodle boot idea!

    Also your room looks awesome.

    Lastly – as someone who is cleaning out her art studio and faced with the nearly impossible task of marrying all of its contents with the more carefully chosen and spaced out contents of my home…I look at your craft/closet picture with hope for myself.

    Because seriously, you had a waist-high mountain of clothes.

    As for me — I plan on slowly sneaking boxes and furniture one by one in to the apartment over the course of the next four days until, I’m sure, we will be completely surrounded. Or maybe Jason and Derek won’t notice!

  5. Big D May 2, 2010 at 10:30 pm #

    As a horder, I can’t believe you didn’t just bring those 7 boxes to me! I felt a desperate cringe when I reading your post, realizing I missed stockpiling something! PS- my car has 3 totes full of cosby sweaters going to the goodwill. More room for sequins!

    • Kate May 3, 2010 at 8:36 am #

      The first 7 boxes were mostly clothes. I’m still going through my craft supplies and making sure to only keep what I will actually use. If you want to come by this week and look through the stuff I don’t need, give me a call. I already have two boxes of stuff to give away.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Boot. « Sweet Disorder - May 26, 2010

    […] 26, 2010 by Kate I went to the doctor yesterday, and he pulled on my toe and told me my foot was still broken. I have to wear my Aircast for three more weeks. Gross. It’s super hot and I want to wear […]

  2. Good Things « Sweet Disorder - June 2, 2010

    […] 2, 2010 by Kate I have been complaining way too much. My busted foot and my financial situation are making me a huge bummer. This needs to stop! Here are some good […]

Leave a Reply

