listen to your mother

8 Aug

My mom was right (she always is; it’s obnoxious). It is totally hard to find clothes that aren’t for teenagers or old ladies. Making these sets took time, and I had to cheat a little: I couldn’t stick to the fifty dollars or less rule, especially with shoes. However, I do feel I obeyed the spirit if not the letter of my “cute stuff you might actually be able to afford” rule, and there’s no thousand-dollar purses here or anything.

This first set is all stuff Mom could wear to work. She’s a speech pathologist at an elementary school, so she needs to wear clothes that let her chase down small children. I think the math-themed tee, while pricey, is worth the money because it’s such a work wardrobe essential.

Cute Stuff for my Mom: Casual/WorkFashion Trends & Styles - Polyvore

One of the more frustrating things about making these sets was finding that the less trendy, more Maggie-friendly items have hands and feet in the photo. This makes it harder to arrange the clothing, and is totally creepy because the hands and arms are not attached to anyone. I love the pants in the middle, but I would not have chosen the shoes the legs are wearing for this set.

The formal set was fun to make. My dad even helped pick stuff out. Can you guess which shoes he picked?

Since my dad picked out horrid pink hooker shoes (I think/hope as a joke) for my mom, I decided to add the red maryjanes, which she would never wear but I wish she would because they are gorgeous. The Dansko sandals are dressy but look wicked comfortable, and the gray heels look like a pair she just got in black. I picked dresses that would show off Mom’s hourglass figure and be versatile enough to be worn in situations of varying fanciness. I put the yellow skirt in both sets to show that it would be cute for work with a tee or for going out with heels and a charcoal gray tank. I haven’t added too much jewelry to the sets because Maggie already has an awesome jewelry collection, but I do really like the earrings I chose. It was super hard to find attractive dressy purses that weren’t clutches. Clutches are the worst. Handbags should have straps. Using a clutch is like saying, “I hope I lose my purse tonight!”

This last set is other stuff I think my mom will like that didn’t end up in the first two.

Cute Stuff for my Mom: Other StuffFashion Trends & Styles - Polyvore

Mom was concerned that the floral skirts were “too young” for her, but I disagree. While there are some things, like Abercrombie tees and denim microminis, that should only be worn by teenagers, I think that if an article of clothing fits you well, you can find a way to pull it off. As long as you wear it with confidence and cute shoes, nobody’s gonna think you look weird. Also, Mom, if you get the skirt on the right and then change your mind, I’ll be happy to take it off your hands.

2 Responses to “listen to your mother”

  1. kate September 18, 2010 at 11:28 am #

    i asked for these boat shoes for my birthday, and they came yesterday! i saw them featured in an earlier polyvore collage of yours and couldn’t get them out of my head. they’re perfect for fall now that i can’t wear my sandals, and they go well with all my skirts and leggings i’m rocking right now. so thanks for finding them for me! 🙂

    • Kate September 19, 2010 at 7:10 pm #

      Oh that’s so awesome! I love those shoes.

Leave a Reply

