write on

18 Aug

I had so much fun reading last night at Scratchpad. I met some nice writery folks, drank a beer that wasn’t Miller High Life or PBR and actually enjoyed it, and people totally laughed out loud at my piece and clapped for me! I might post the shorter piece on this blog later in the week, even though it has nothing to do with clothes.

I know I talked about my dad’s book to some people after the readings were over, so here’s a link to his website so you can buy his book and read the sex scene that traumatized me for life. Thanks a lot, Dad.

Seriously, though, I really enjoyed his book, and just knowing that he wrote a novel is comforting to me. Usually, I think about people writing novels and I feel tired in the same way that I do when I think about people doing triathlons. Knowing that my dad wrote an entire book while still having a job and a social life and being super in love with my mom gives me hope for my own future in writing.

Now get going on that sequel, Dad, because I wanna know what happens next!

4 Responses to “write on”

  1. Joel Glidden August 18, 2010 at 4:54 pm #

    I watched this movie recently where Robin Williams does full frontal, which, according to an interview I saw of the director, everyone forgot to mention to his daughter before she watched it. Ouch. “World’s Greatest Dad”, I highly recommend it. Sorry I couldn’t come to your thing the other night. I knew it would rule because your blog always has the fluency of pleasant-smelling writing.

    • Kate August 18, 2010 at 5:46 pm #

      I’m so glad my dad’s not Robin Williams.

      And thanks! I hope you had a good birthday!

  2. fore front August 27, 2010 at 8:52 am #

    adding to our list of reads fo sho!

  3. ..0..o... January 24, 2011 at 12:38 pm #

    JUST finished Slow Eddie and I am foaming at the mouth for your Dad to write/publish more. Seriously people need to read/borrow/buy (mostly buy) this book and jump in. I love Eddie.

Leave a Reply

