the haunted dress

2 Sep

Here’s a dress that Greg pulled out of his attic for me:

When Samantha and Greg moved into their house, they discovered a few suitcases and boxes full of old dresses in the attic. Greg was convinced that the dresses were haunted, but he still let me come over and take them.

This one is my favorite, but I’m not totally sold on the length. Should I hem it to just above the knee? I would appreciate input on this important matter.

There are way more dresses, most from the 1950s according to fabric store receipts we found in the boxes. I’ll post pictures of them someday when it’s not too hot to wear clothes. Most of them fit me, and they seem to be in great condition now that I’ve washed decades of attic dust out of them.

Thanks Greg and Sam, for the dresses, for the delicious burritos, and for having a super fun belated wedding reception! You guys are awesome.

13 Responses to “the haunted dress”

  1. Samantha September 2, 2010 at 10:33 pm #

    I think it would look better a little shorter. It’s a hard choice to make. On one hand, you don’t want to ruin it accidentally, but on the other, you could turn it into something super cute. I vote hem it.

  2. Katrinka September 3, 2010 at 12:38 am #

    I’d usually say hem it, but longer lengths are in style right now and I’m starting to get into the look of long skirts for fall. Maybe try it out for awhile, and if you’re really not feeling it, hem it.
    I’m super jealous about this find. Clothing is the main thing I look for whenever I find an abandoned house! I’ve yet to find anything good, and I imagine if I did, I’d be way too creeped out to wear it. I’m convinced every abandoned house is abandoned because someone was murdered in it or satanists took over or something. Your new dresses are probably haunted by the ghosts of murdered satanic grannies, for the record.

  3. sondra September 3, 2010 at 1:32 am #

    i say hem it. not too short. but a little more leg will make it be more slimming. also, if there are any reject dresses you want to donate to me… haha… i’m starting a new project making baby dresses out of used cotton clothing.

    also, i am SO JEALOUS.

    • Maggie September 3, 2010 at 6:35 pm #

      I want to see one! Maybe I will buy one for my 2 year old granddaughter?!

  4. Kate September 3, 2010 at 7:00 am #

    Thanks guys! Satanic grannies are my biggest style inspiration. I’m thinking I’ll probably hem it a little bit eventually. If I do, I’ll send you the fabric, Sondra!

  5. audrey September 3, 2010 at 7:18 am #

    Go an inch below the knee first, see how you like it! Then if it has to go up, it has to go up. A little bit at a time, like how you can’t take salt out of soup if you’ve put too much in it. 🙂

    The only reason I’m a proponent for “not too short” in this instance is the length is period to the find.

    P.S. It looks awesome! Do they smell? P.P.S. I saw Samantha riding her bike on Steven’s Ave yesterday wearing an aqua shirt and aqua sunglasses. Street style, Sam! Lookin’ good.

    • Kate September 3, 2010 at 7:33 pm #

      They don’t smell! I washed them with dish soap the night I got them. Dish soap gets anything out of anything, I swear.

  6. Jess September 3, 2010 at 10:24 am #

    Well, you know, if the chest is stupid large on any of them… I know a guy.

    • Kate September 3, 2010 at 7:34 pm #

      I’ll see what I can do. I might have one that would fit.

  7. Maggie September 3, 2010 at 6:34 pm #

    Well, mother knows best, and I say the length is part of the style of this particle gem. I think it looks great on you. I love the fabric. Lose the cowboy boots with it though.

    • Kate September 3, 2010 at 7:35 pm #

      Yeah, the cowboy boots with it make my legs look weirdly proportioned.

  8. imogen flowers September 12, 2010 at 9:59 am #

    Yeah sure hem the dress if you want to be haunted…by 1950’s mores.

  9. imogen flowers September 12, 2010 at 10:00 am #

    Alternately, keep the length and puff it out with crinoline.

Leave a Reply

