stuff I bought just to prove it existed: stripey suspender sweater

1 Dec

I brought some clothes to Find this weekend, so I could get new clothes without spending all of my Christmas shopping money on myself (Find is great for instant gratification, since they buy clothes from you instead of consigning them). I started laughing when Laura held up a red and black striped sweater with attached suspenders.

image stolen from Find's facebook page

“Sometimes, I buy things just to prove they exist,” I said. “I have no idea what to wear with that.”

Laura and I decided that this would be a good feature for this blog: stuff I bought just because I was amazed someone made a garment so weird (coming soon: leather cape, suction cup shirt, terrifyingly huge earrings).

This one is Althea’s fault. We were at the Salvation Army downtown a couple years ago, and she insisted that I could make this sweater work. I don’t regret buying it, but I never could pull it off: with tight black jeans and ankle boots, I looked like Freddy Krueger’s lame attempt at mod. With a short pleated skirt, I looked like a colorblind schoolgirl. I never left the house wearing it.

If you’re more daring than me, it’s for sale at Find on Free Street. Are you up to the challenge?

2 Responses to “stuff I bought just to prove it existed: stripey suspender sweater”

  1. bessmarvin December 8, 2010 at 11:33 pm #

    kate. you need to start a museum. STAT. maybe someday i’ll make enough money to be your benefactor.

  2. NewSandwichCollection January 31, 2011 at 10:59 am #

    Really like your blog very artistic though that freddy krauger pics a bit scary.

Leave a Reply

